Kentucky Accredited Firefighter Certification Program

General Information

In-House Classes Taught for Certification
Area Office Resource Page
General Info
Certification Levels
FF1&2 Skills Testing
Written Testing
Upcoming Classes for Certification
Disability Policy
Contact Us

Kentucky offers an accredited fire fighter certification to: (1) an active member of a Kentucky fire department, (2) a soldier or civilian assigned to a Kentucky military installation, or (3) a currently enrolled student of Fire Safety/Science within the Kentucky Community and Technical College System or 4-year Kentucky university.  Non-firefighters associated with a first response agency or fire brigade/safety team within Kentucky may be certified to the Hazardous Materials standard only.
REMINDER: Candidates must be at least 18 years of age to certify to any level that includes a practical skills test. Candidates under 18, may complete any level written exam, and may certify to Hazardous Materials Awareness only.
All Certifications are based on the Professional Qualification standards set forth by the NFPA for firefighters, except Hazardous Materials, which is a Job Performance standard. Our accreditation is through the International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC). This accredited certification is issued by the Governors Commission on Fire Protection, Personnel Standards and Education, commonly known as the Kentucky Fire Commission. Kentucky currently certifies to 14 levels, those certifications include: Firefighter 1 and Firefighter 2 (NFPA 1001-2019), Hazardous Materials Awareness, Operations-Core and Operations-Product Control (NFPA 1072-2017), Driver Operator, DO-Pumper, DO-Mobile Water Supply and DO-Aerial (NFPA 1002-2014), Airport Fire Fighter (NFPA 1003-2015), Fire Officer 1 and Fire Officer 2 (NFPA 1021-2014), Fire Instructor 1 and Fire Instructor 2 (NFPA 1041-2012).

Kentucky IFSAC Accredited Certification Program
99 Lake Park Drive 
Morehead, KY  40351